Curtain

Curtain, Silvio VUJIČIĆ, white Card Kontejner (HR)

 

Curtain sur Makery, par Dare Pejić
Curtain on Makery, by Dare Pejić

Simply there, a curtain hangs in the exhibition space, giving no indication of action. We are denied an explanation as its performative character manifests shortly, with a thud of a water pump being activated.

Curtain, first shown in 2008, was revealed in 2019 at V2 in Rotterdam once again after more than ten years. Simply there, a curtain hangs in the exhibition space, giving no indication of action. We are denied an explanation as its performative character manifests shortly, with a thud of a water pump being activated. The curtain is made of polyvinyl fabric, a specific type of textile that once in contact with water contorts, deforms, to finally evaporate and disappear completely.

From Petra Vidović’s text Sediments: “The idea of the curtain is common, it has its dramatic connotations that irresistibly call to mind Polonius and Dorian, but in the case of Vujičić’s Curtain it isn’t hiding anything, it is here for itself, its own derivative. During the exhibition,Curtain does not exist, only the spent remains of its being are visible. The disappearance of the work is a better solution for the artist than its completion: a finished work is Vujičić's biggest misgiving.”

 

Silvio Vujičić
graduated at the Academy of Fine Arts in Zagreb and the Faculty of Textile Technology in Zagreb. As a visual artist Vujičić is interested in the cultural position and construction of fashion, process of transformation with crystallization, corrosion, blossoming, viruses, etc. All these techniques are manifested in clothing, prints, drawings, performances and installations that invert the “natural” position of things and produce visions that are more related to undefined desires rather than to predictable pleasure. Silvio Vujičić is looking for processes in which specific technologies of art and science get mutually infected so as to produce hybrid concepts, feelings, and techniques.

 

Interview

Curtain

Curtain, Silvio VUJIČIĆ, carte blanche Kontejner (HR)

 

Curtain sur Makery, par Dare Pejić
Curtain on Makery, by Dare Pejić

Il y a juste un rideau tendu dans l’espace dédié, qui ne donne aucune indication. On ne nous explique pas non plus la performance du personnage qui ne se manifeste que très brièvement, alors que l’on entend le bruit d’une pompe à eau qu’on actionne.

Curtain, avait d’abord été présente en 2008, avant d’être représenté, plus de dix ans plus tard au V2 à Rotterdam en 2019. Il y a juste un rideau tendu dans l’espace dédié qui ne donne aucune indication. On ne nous explique pas non plus la performance du personnage qui ne se manifeste que très brièvement, alors que l’on entend le bruit d’une pompe à eau que l’on actionne.  Le rideau est fait d’une matière polyvinyle spéciale, qui au contact de l’eau se rétracte, se déforme, pour finir par disparaître complètement.

Extrait de Sediments, un texte de Petra Vidović : “La dimension du rideau est relativement familière, évoquant des connotations théâtrales qui rappellent des scènes avec Polonius et Dorian, mais le rideau de Silvio Vujičić, lui, ne cache rien. Il figure à part entière, ne dérivant que de lui-même. Au moment où il est exposé, Curtain n’existe plus, seul ce qui en reste est visible. La disparition d’une œuvre, plutôt que sa réalisation apparaît comme l’aboutissement ultime chez Silvio Vujičić, pour qui finir une œuvre est une grande appréhension.”

 

Silvio Vujičić
est diplômé des Beaux-Arts et de la Faculté de technologie textile de Zagreb. Artiste plasticien, il s’intéresse au développement et au positionnement culturel de la mode, aux procédés de transformation par cristallisation, corrosion, éclosion, aux virus, etc. On retrouve ces techniques dans la conception des vêtements, impressions, performances et installations, qui inversent l’ordre naturel des choses, et induisent des vues qui relèvent plus de désirs non définis que de plaisirs prévisibles. Silvio Vujičić est en recherche de processus au sein desquels technologies artistiques et scientifiques se contaminent mutuellement afin de générer des concepts, des ressentis et des techniques hybrides.

 

Interview