DRUMS

 

 

DRUMS

As part of the post-graduate session “Arts and sound creation”

 

Drums is a collective of 9 emerging artists who research and work in the expanded field of sound.

In a laboratory the experience is the only valid source of knowledge. It is also a space in which we develop tools that serve to engage protean forms of collective speculation, where diverging practices and points of view merge together.

Speculation is hereby understood as an aspiration to create alternate paths in the present : Embracing and ‘Making with’ the unpredictable, the yet unknown and the unstable. We assume that the exploration of contradictions plays a crucial role in order to address trouble and the paradoxes of disquiet times. We comprehend that engaging a multiplicity of perspectives has the potential to re-negotiate the present tense and its troubles.

The Lab opens on the 30th November and closes the 5th December 2020. We will make use of the sonic media of radio amalgamated with installation and performance works, to inject up-stirring contents and expressions into the rhizome of the world wide web.

 

Lien du live Drums Show

Jour 1 – Studio Jumpy

Jour 2 – Following The Membrane

Jour 3 – Oxygene Brake

Jour 4 – Inconscient collectif 

Drums

is a collective of 9 emerging artists who research and work in the expanded field of sound. As part of the post-graduate session “Arts and sound creation” 2020 at Ensa-Bourges, the collective questions the possible new relationships between fine arts and sound. Drums collective is named after Laurie Spiegel's eponymous piece composed in 1975, as tribute to her pioneering electronic music compositions. Drums has a prolific transdisciplinary practice and aims to explore collective experiences, which become manifest through sound installations, live performances, field recording, and radio broadcasting.

DRUMS

 

 

DRUMS

Post diplôme art et création sonore

Work in progress !

 

Pour les Rencontres Monde-s Multiple-s nous proposons la création d’un laboratoire éphémère.

Dans un laboratoire c’est l’expérience qui est l’unique source valable de savoir. C’est aussi un espace dans lequel on développe les outils nécessaires afin d’engager un processus de spéculation collective, où des pratiques et des perspectives divergentes fusionnent.

Par spéculation nous entendons la tentative de créer dans le présent des bifurcations et des trajectoires alternatives : faire avec l’imprévisible, embrasser l’inconnu et saisir le potentiel de l’instabilité qu’amène la transformation. Afin de comprendre les paradoxes d’une époque inquiétante nous devons explorer les contradictions. Nous supposons qu’une multiplicité de perspectives est nécessaire afin d’adresser le trouble du temps présent.

Les activités du laboratoire débutent le 23 novembre et se terminent le 5 décembre 2020. Nous utiliserons la radiodiffusion en ligne, hybridée avec des installations et des performances sur place, afin de diffuser des contenus spéculatifs dans le rhizome du world-wide-web.

 

Drums

est un collectif de neuf artistes qui mènent chacun une recherche dans le domaine du son. En tant que promotion 2020 du post-diplôme Arts et créations sonores à l’Ensa Bourges, le collectif s’interroge sur les nouvelles relations possibles entre arts et son. Le collectif Drums trouve son nom dans l’éponyme pièce composée en 1975 par Laurie Spiegiel, en hommage à ses compositions pionnières de musique électronique. Drums à une pratique transdisciplinaire et prolifique et tend à explorer des expériences collectives.