emppp

Emap is our main dating partner.

http://www.emare.eu/

 

In our increasingly digitized, technology driven world, next to scientists and programmers, it is artists, who create alternative visions for a more sustainable and just society. Collaboration between these communities helps us to reflect on the impact of new technologies on society. If Europe wants to take a different technological path from China or Silicon Valley, whilst opposing nascent anti-democratic movements, it should focus on the creative, communicative, critical and unifying potential of the arts. Through support for emerging artists we can contribute to secure a tolerant and democratic future for citizens of Europe. The European Media Art Platform was founded for this purpose.

 

The basic idea of the program is to enable European media art organisations and artists to collaborate on projects and consequently to create closer bonds between these organisations. The unification and extension of Europe, triggered by the collapse of the Eastern Bloc, has created new problems to be faced as well as new opportunities for cooperation and exchange. This period of transition has been characterized on the one hand, by the challenge to become more 'European'– which generally has meant, more homogenous – and, on the other, by a desire to define what constitutes national and regional identity, in order both to retrieve a sense of traditional cultures, now lost; and to consider how respective national and cultural identities might enrich and enhance one another, as opposed to being divisive.

 

EMAP/EMARE offers an opportunity to work within these bounds, as defined by the individual artists, which enables the latter to develop their own projects within a new context, and thereby give something back, in turn, to their host organization.

 

This process of encouraging artists' projects and building stronger links between media organizations is enhanced by the rapid development of networked technologies and also reflects the moves towards integration taking place throughout Europe.

 

The artistic works produced at EMAP/EMARE help us to reflect the new technologies and sometimes even create alternatives to the tools of the big high-tech corporations.

 

The various new technologies now coming to the fore require a relatively high degree of know-how and, although each individual organization has its own unique set-up, facilities and staff, opportunities for the exchange of information and skills give a further boost to the programme. Sharing insights, facilities and knowledge also fosters greater efficiency when dealing with scientists or the international media market (issues such as TV broadcasting, co-productions, co-funding, etc.) and the art world (festivals, museums, galeries, etc.).

 

EMAP is always on the lookout for new associated partners, so European media centres with an interest in joining should please contact us! Associated partners benefit from shared information, invitations to workshops, conferences and festivals EMAP is organising, they can apply for EMAP artists presentation fees and have access to our submission and research database http://call.emare.eu.

emppp

Emap est notre principal partenaire sur les Rencontres.

http://www.emare.eu/

 

Dans notre monde de plus en plus numérisé et axé sur la technologie, aux côtés des scientifiques et des programmeurs, ce sont les artistes qui créent des visions alternatives pour une société plus durable et plus juste. La collaboration entre ces communautés nous aide à réfléchir sur l’impact des nouvelles technologies sur la société. Si l’Europe veut emprunter une voie technologique différente de celle de la Chine ou de la Silicon Valley, tout en s’opposant aux mouvements antidémocratiques naissants, elle doit se concentrer sur le potentiel créatif, communicatif, critique et unificateur des arts. En soutenant les artistes émergents, nous pouvons contribuer à assurer un avenir tolérant et démocratique aux citoyens européens. La plate-forme européenne des arts médiatiques a été fondée dans ce but.

 

L’idée de base du programme est de permettre aux organisations et aux artistes européens des arts médiatiques de collaborer sur des projets et, par conséquent, de créer des liens plus étroits entre ces organisations. L’unification et l’extension de l’Europe, déclenchées par l’effondrement du bloc de l’Est, ont créé de nouveaux problèmes à affronter ainsi que de nouvelles possibilités de coopération et d’échange. Cette période de transition a été caractérisée, d’une part, par le défi de devenir plus “européen” – ce qui signifie généralement plus homogène – et, d’autre part, par le désir de définir ce qui constitue l’identité nationale et régionale, afin à la fois de retrouver un sens des cultures traditionnelles, aujourd’hui perdues, et d’examiner comment les identités nationales et culturelles respectives pourraient s’enrichir et se renforcer mutuellement, au lieu de se diviser.

 

EMAP/EMARE offre une opportunité de travailler dans ces limites, telles que définies par les artistes individuels, ce qui permet à ces derniers de développer leurs propres projets dans un nouveau contexte, et ainsi de donner quelque chose en retour, à leur tour, à leur organisation d’accueil.

 

Ce processus d’encouragement des projets d’artistes et de renforcement des liens entre les organisations médiatiques est renforcé par le développement rapide des technologies en réseau et reflète également les mouvements d’intégration qui ont lieu dans toute l’Europe.

 

Les œuvres artistiques produites à EMAP/EMARE nous aident à refléter les nouvelles technologies et parfois même à créer des alternatives aux outils des grandes sociétés de haute technologie.

 

Les diverses nouvelles technologies qui apparaissent aujourd’hui sur le devant de la scène exigent un degré relativement élevé de savoir-faire et, bien que chaque organisation ait sa propre structure, ses propres installations et son propre personnel, les possibilités d’échange d’informations et de compétences donnent un élan supplémentaire au programme. Le partage des idées, des installations et des connaissances favorise également une plus grande efficacité dans les relations avec les scientifiques ou le marché international des médias (questions telles que la diffusion télévisuelle, les coproductions, le cofinancement, etc.

 

L’EMAP est toujours à la recherche de nouveaux partenaires associés. Les centres européens des médias intéressés par une adhésion sont donc invités à nous contacter ! Les partenaires associés bénéficient d’informations partagées, d’invitations à des ateliers, des conférences et des festivals organisés par l’EMAP, ils peuvent demander des droits de présentation d’artistes de l’EMAP et ont accès à notre base de données de soumission et de recherche http://call.emare.eu.