Presentation of his project: Krafla

Krafla - Audio visual concert and installation by 18 boreholes and 1 Geothermal power plant.
Krafla is a live electro-acoustic performance composed primarily from field recordings from the Krafla Geothermal power plant and surrounding region, located in a volcanic caldera in the north of Iceland. The concert will be accompanied by single screen videoprojection of my digitalized monochrome 16mm film and photo-montage from the Krafla area.

 

The Krafla power plant includes numerous deep boreholes to access steam and geothermal springs; the top of each borehole is enclosed in a geodesic structure and connected to a network of pipelines which bring the steam and water to the various parts of the power plant. Each of these boreholes has a very individual character depending on the age and depth of the installation, and as such function as a kind of industrial musical instrument with its own personality. The evaporation processes and power turbines also produce an intense density of sound. These industrial infrastructures stand in the context of the weather and land of the caldera, prone to intense winds and heavy fog. Krafla seeks to explore the relationships between these human and extra-human forces.

 

 

Field audio recordings: Anna Friz & Konrad Korabiewski initially recorded as part of commission for NYT Magazine, Sonic Voyages Issue 9.22.18

 

The Project emerges from The New York Times Magazine fall 2018 “Sonic Voyages Issue” focusing on travel to parts of the world based on sonic attractions or properties featured soundscapes from 11 sites around the world including Iceland with field recordings by Anna Friz and Konrad Korabiewski.

Presentation photos: Anna Friz
Project, music and realization in 2020/2021: Konrad Korabiewski

Présentation de son projet : Krafla

Présentation du projet : Krafla

 

Konrad Korabiewski sur Makery, par Elsa Ferreira
Konrad Korabiewski on Makery, by Elsa Ferreira

 

Krafla – Concert audiovisuel et installation aux abords de 18 forages et d’une centrale géothermique.
Krafla est une performance électroacoustique en direct, essentiellement composée d’enregistrements recueillis sur le terrain de la centrale géothermique de Krafla, et dans les alentours de cette région de cratères volcaniques du nord de l’Islande. Le concert est accompagné d’une projection vidéo d’un film monochrome en super 16 numérisé, ainsi que d’un montage de photos des environs de Krafla.

 

La centrale géothermique de Krafla comprend de multiples et profonds forages plongeant jusqu’aux vapeurs et sources géo-thermales. Au-dessus de chaque forage, il y a une structure géodésique reliée au réseau de pipelines qui acheminent l’eau et la vapeur vers la centrale. L’apparence de chaque forage varie en fonction de la date et de la profondeur de l’installation, et constitue ainsi une sorte d’instrument de musique doté d’un caractère propre. Les processus d’évaporation et les turbines de la centrale produisent aussi une intense densité sonore. Ces infrastructures industrielles s’inscrivent dans le contexte météorologique de ce territoire de cratère volcanique, sujet à des vents très puissants et à un épais brouillard. Krafla explore ainsi la relation entre ces forces humaines et non humaines.

 

Ce projet a été relayé à l’automne 2018 par le New York Times Magazine dans un article intitulé “Sonic Voyages Issue” répertoriant des voyages à travers le monde, dans des zones constituant des environnements et paysages sonores particuliers, dont l’Islande, en faisant référence aux enregistrements effectués sur le terrain par Anna Friz et Konrad Korabiewski.

Enregistrements audios sur le terrain : Anna Friz & Konrad Korabiewski, pour la publication de Sonic Voyages paru le 22/09/18 dans le NYT Magazine.

Présentation photos : Anna Friz
Projet, musique et réalisation en 2020/2021 : Konrad Korabiewski