WOMBS

WOMBS, Margherita Pevere

Wombs the series meditates on sexuality and hormonal contraception from an environmental, more-than-human perspective

2018 – 2019

 

WOMBS sur Makery, par Rob La Frenais

WOMBS on Makery, by Rob La Frenais

 

This project, which integrates Margherita Pevere's doctoral thesis work at the University of Aalto in Helsinki, is supported by the National Agency for Education in Finland and the Kone Foundation.

 

Our leaky materiality entwines our everyday choices with a multitude of other bodies, living and non/living, human and non/human, in bonds of mutual vulnerability. The series Wombs meditates on sexuality and hormonal contraception from an environmental, more-than-human perspective

 

Bodies are unsealed, unstable, leaky. The fluids in our cells connect us to deep time waters while molecules are digested, accumulated, excreted in the flow of mucus, sweat, urine. Our leaky materiality entwines our everyday choices with a multitude of other bodies, living and non/living, human and ahuman, in bonds of mutual vulnerability. The series Wombs meditates on sexuality and hormonal contraception from an environmental, more-than-human perspective. The project propagates through interconnected interventions featuring biological art, performance, and photography. The project reclaims the importance of hormonal contraception and therapy. Sex steroids in hormonal contraceptives modulate human sexual organs to prevent pregnancy. Yet, the same molecules may trigger the endocrine system of other organisms. On that basis, Wombs wonders how the progestine-based contraceptive I take may link my body to other, ahuman bodies. By reclaiming vulnerability and toxic embodiment, Wombs prompts a critical rethinking of the discourses on sexuality and contraception as a human-only experience enclosed in one's own body. living biofilm-producing bacterial colonies. Its culture medium is infused with hormones metabolites and residues I extracted from my urine by re-staging scientific methods. The piece celebrates scientific glassware as organs outside the body that accompany the negotiation with living matter in biolab practice.

 W .01 and W. 03 at Art Laboratory Berlin, credit: Tim Deussen.

Margherita Pevere (DE)

is an internationally acknowledged artist and researcher whose practice glides across biological arts and performance with a distinctive visceral signature. Her transdisciplinary inquiry hybridizes biolab practice, biotechnology, ecology, environmental politics, gender and death studies, with a healthy dose of hacking attitude to create arresting installations and performances that hunt today’s surging ecological complexity. Her body of work is a blooming garden crawling with genetically edited bacteria, cells extracted from her body, sex hormones, microbial biofilm, bovine blood, slugs, growing plants and decomposing biological remains. She would not be the artist and researcher she is today without the many collaborations with practitioners from different disciplines in art, science and humanities. Together with Marco Donnarumma and Andrea Familari, she recently co-founded the artists’ group Fronte Vacuo to realize performances made of bodies, symbionts, sounds, machines and images. She is completing a PhD (Artistic Research) at Aalto University on biological arts and feminist theory. She is member of the Finnish Bioart Societyand of Posthumanities HubRecent accolades include the Digital Art Award of Romaeuropa Festival (with Donnarumma), the Honorable Mention at the Share Prizeand a research grant of Kone In 2019, she was selected for the European Media Art Platforms EMARE program at KONTEJNER | bureau of contemporary art praxis.

 

Interview

WOMBS

WOMBS, Margherita Pevere

Wombs est une série d’interventions photographiques, de performance, et de bio-art.

2018 – 2019

 

WOMBS sur Makery, par Rob La Frenais

WOMBS on Makery, by Rob La Frenais

 

Ce projet intégrant le travail de thèse de doctorat de Margherita Pevere à l’université d’Aalto, à Helsinki, est soutenu par l’Agence Nationale pour l’Education en Finlande, et la fondation Kone.

 

« Notre matérialité fuyante s’immisce dans nos choix quotidiens via une multitude d’autres instances, vivantes et non-vivantes, humaines et non-humaines, au sein d’une vulnérabilité commune. La série Wombs explore sexualité et contraception hormonale à travers un prisme environnemental, au-delà de la seule perspective humaine.

 

Les corps ne sont pas étanches, ils sont instables, ils fuient. Ces fluides dans nos cellules nous relient à des eaux profondes et ancestrales, des molécules étant digérées, accumulées, secrétées au sein des flux de mucus, de transpiration, d’urine.     Notre matérialité fuyante s’immisce dans nos choix quotidiens via une multitude d’autres instances, vivantes et non-vivantes, humaines et non-humaines, au sein d’une vulnérabilité commune. La série Wombs explore sexualité et contraception hormonale à travers un prisme environnemental, au-delà de la seule perspective humaine. Le projet se dissémine à travers des interventions interconnectées via le bio-art, la performance et la photographie, et met l’accent sur la contraception hormonale et la thérapie. Les stéroïdes sexuels contenus dans les contraceptifs hormonaux agissent sur les organes sexuels humains pour empêcher une grossesse. Pourtant, ces mêmes molécules agissent aussi sur le système endocrinien d’autres organismes. En partant de ce constat, Wombs s’interroge : En quoi le contraceptif progestatif que j’ingère interfère-t-il avec d’autres corps que le mien, d’autres corps non humains ? En s’emparant de cette vulnérabilité, de cette atteinte délétère à l’intégrité corporelle, Wombs incite à repenser les conceptions de la sexualité et de la contraception, comme n’étant qu’une expérience humaine incarnée dans nos seuls corps. »

 W .01 and W. 03 at Art Laboratory Berlin, credit: Tim Deussen.

Margherita Pevere (DE)

est une artiste de renommée internationale, une chercheuse dont la pratique personnelle et viscérale oscille entre bio-art et performances. Sa démarche transdisciplinaire inclut manipulations de laboratoire biologique, biotechnologie, écologie, politique environnementale, recherches sur les problématiques de genre et la mort, et une bonne dose de hacking, afin de créer installations et performances qui interpellent, et se réfèrent à la complexité de l’urgence écologique à laquelle nous faisons face.  Son champ de travail est un jardin luxuriant, croulant sous des bactéries génétiquement manipulées, des cellules extraites de son propre corps, des hormones sexuelles, des mucilages microbiens, du sang bovin, des limaces, des plantes, et des restes biologiques en décomposition. Elle ne serait pas l’artiste et la chercheuse qu’elle est devenue, sans avoir collaboré avec différents praticiens œuvrant dans divers domaines des arts, des sciences, et des sciences humaines. En partenariat avec Marco Donnarumma et Andrea Familari, elle a récemment cofondé le collectif d’artistes Fronte Vacuo qui réalise des performances à partir de corps, de symbiotes, de sons, d’instruments et d’images. Elle achève actuellement un doctorat de recherche artistique sur les arts biologiques et la pensée féministe à l’université d’Aalto, et elle est membre de la Finnish Bioart Society, ainsi que du Posthumanities Hub. Elle a récemment été récompensée d’un prix de l’art numérique au festival de Romaeuropa (tout comme Marco  Donnarumma), d’une mention honorable du Share Prize, et la fondation Kone lui a attribué une bourse pour poursuivre ses recherches. En 2019, elle a été sélectionnée par la plateforme européenne d’arts des médias (EMAP) au sein du programme de résidence EMARE à KONTEJNER | bureau de pratique d’art contemporain.

 

Interview